The political system of the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria is organized by the Constitution of 1996 (amended in 2002, 2008 and 2016)

The constitution, which sets out the general principles governing the Algerian society, introduced pluralism and established the separation of powers (executive, legislative and judicial).

It has established Institutions based on the participation of citizens in the governance, protects the principle of people’s free choice and gives legitimacy to exercise of the powers.

The President of the Republic is elected by direct, secret and universal suffrage for 5 years term, which can be renewable once.

President of the Republic appoints members of the Government after consultation with the Prime Minister, who coordinates the latter’s action.

The Algerian Parliament is bicameral. Its two chambers are the People’s National Assembly, which is elected in direct universal suffrage, and the Council of the Nation, where 2/3 of members are elected indirectly and 1/3 is designated by the President of the Republic from among eminent national individuals and authorities in the scientific, cultural, professional, economic and social fields.

The Constitution states that Islam is the religion of the state and Arabic is the national and official language. Tamazight is also a national and official language.

It outlaws all forms of discrimination and enshrines the inviolability of freedom of conscience and opinion.

Other rights, such as the right to health, the right to free education, the right to work, the right to belong to a trade union and the right to strike, are also guaranteed.

Finally, according to the Constitution, Algeria is working towards the realization of justice, freedom and peace in the world, towards strengthening international cooperation and the development of friendly relations between States based on the equality, mutual interest and non-interference in other’s internal affairs. It endorses the principles and objectives of the United Nations Charter.

The Constitutional Council, established by the Constitution of  February 23rd 1989, “ensures respect for the Constitution”.

The Constitutional Council is seized by the President of the Republic, the President of the Council of the Nation, the President of the National Assembly or the Prime Minister. The constitutional revision of March 2016 has expanded the possibility of referral to the Constitutional Council to fifty (50) members of the National Assembly or thirty (30) members of the Council of the Nation.

Read more :