الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية

Official Name: People's Democratic Republic of Algeria


Capital: Algiers  

Independence: July 5th, 1962

National Day: Anniversary of the Revolution-November 1st (1954).

Constitution: Constitution of February 2016.

President: Elected for a five years term by direct, secret and universal suffrage. The President Abdelaziz Bouteflika was first elected in April 1999. He was reelected in 2004, 2009 and 2014. On April 2nd 2019, the President Bouteflika notified officially to the Constitutional Council his decision to end his term as President of the Republic. On April 9th 2019, the Speaker (President of the Senat) Abdelkader Bensalah officially took up his duties as Acting Head of State according to the Article 102 of the Constitution. On december 12th 2019, Abdelmadjid Tebboune elected President of the Republic with 58.15% of votes.

Parliament: Bicameral: The Council of the Nation and the National People’s Assembly.

Language: Arabic is the national and official language. Tamazight is also a national and official language.

Population : 42,42 millions on 1st January 2018 (ONS estimation). (45% <25 years old, 18,76 millions and 54% > 30 years old, 22,48 millions)

Religion: Islam is the religion of the State.

Currency: Algerian Dinar (DZD) = one hundred centimes.

Local Time : G.M.T. + 1

Telephone Code: +213

Area: 2 381 741 Km²

Main Cities: Algiers - Oran - Constantine - Annaba.

Territorial Entities: The Territorial Entities are the "Commune" and the "Wilaya." There are 48 Wilayate (provinces).

Geography: Located in North Africa, Algeria is bordered by the Mediterranean Sea on the north, Morocco, Western Sahara and Mauritania on the west, Mali and Niger on the south, and Libya and Tunisia on the east.

Algeria shares 6342 kilometers of borders with its neighbouring countries. The coastline extends for more than 1200 km and the Sahara occupies 80% of the Algerian territory.

Climate: Mediterranean in the coastal areas. Semi arid in the mid-South and Arid in the South.

The Algerian Constitution defines "Islam, Arabic and Tamazight" as "fundamental components" of the identity of the Algerian people and Algeria as “land of Islam, an integral part of the Great Maghreb, the Arab, Mediterranean and African countries”.

Algeria is a member of the United Nations (UN), African Union (AU) and the League of Arab States almost since its independence in 1962. It joined the OPEC in 1969. In February 1989, Algeria took part with other North African States on the creation of the organization of the Maghreb Arab Union (MAU).

Read more about